The Uncertainty of Travel

Surprising my boyfriend with plane tickets for his birthday was something I decided to do after hearing him reminisce and lament on how much he missed his life on the western side of the country. I knew it would mean the world to him if he could go back, even if it was just to visit. And that’s what I did: I booked us two tickets each; one to Vegas for two days, another to Utah for one and half.

IMG_0951.JPG

I was so excited once I had placed the order. But that night the uncertainty and anxiety that the uncertainty surrounding travel brings hit me. What if our flights are delayed and we have even less time than already allotted? Should I’ve given us an extra day in Utah? Are we going to have enough time to do everything we want to?

“To travel is worth any cost or sacrifice.” – Elizabeth Gilbert

All my worries were unfounded. Yet, I stayed up for two hours anxiously going over the itinerary, praying that he is happy with the few days that we would be traveling and dreading any disappointment in the amount of flying and less sightseeing that we may have to endure. Even so, I was still incredibly excited to go; reassuring myself that my goal to travel this year would be completed and that the money I spent on the tickets and the time in airports would be worth it because I would be able to share it with my boyfriend.

I guess I did have some cause to worry though. Already, because of the big snowstorm due to arrive in the next 24 hours, we’ve had to delay our trip a day just so we didn’t risk our flight get completely cancelled. Trying to get on the phone with Priceline and change our flight was incredibly stressful, especially when doing it via radio communication waves.

“See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories. Ask for no guarantees, ask for no security.” – Ray Bradbury

IMG_0700.JPG

I had traveled with my boyfriend before: to New York City last November. Waking up that morning of our day trip, I experienced the same anxiety and worry that gripped me at three o’clock in the morning worrying for no founded reason and then again at eleven o’clock yesterday with reason. But all that anxiety disappeared when I remembered that I would regret not going more than taking a chance that might not pan out how I would hope.

Travel is adventure and risk, offering little security with all the factors that can disrupt your plans. But what fun would life be without the occasional uncertainty?

For all the planning we do in life, we can become disappointed and depressed when it doesn’t go our way. But that’s a great lesson learned in life and travel. Don’t plan too much. Or if you feel the need, plan, but also prepare for potential derailment. Nothing is set in stone so your expectations shouldn’t be either. It’s better to take a chance for greatness than settle for mediocre security.

IMG_0987.JPG

So, despite the fact that a blizzard cut our time short in Vegas, we’re not just going to cancel everything in our disappointment. No! We’re still packing our backpacks with a couple outfits and travel-sized everything and getting our plans in order. There’s no way we’re going to miss out on this adventure.

Leave a Reply

