Summer Concerts for Sister Bonding

Music has a way of drawing all kinds of people together. It could be at a rock concert where you meet strangers who turn into your best friends as a result of both being obsessed with the headlining band on stage. Or it could be an old high school enemy who you see at a jazz club head bobbing just as yours does to the smooth beat. Or it could be at a summer concert featuring pop artists including a boyband that your sister absolutely adores.

IMG_0230.JPG

My sister and I are very different, and we don’t get along sometimes (which can feel like most of the time). Often, you can hear us throwing insults and scathing remarks to each other. Other times, we don’t even talk because she’s either at sports or I’m at work. And, even though I was home the majority of the summer, I felt like I never saw her. You can tell there is ample room for communication breakdown and a range of interests that often clash.

But, we do have one thing in common: we are constantly listening to music. Sometimes it’s the same music. And when friends operate on schedules unbeknownst half the time, who better to take a trip to a concert with than your sister, whose schedule is known and who requires no ride to your house?

Every concert I’ve attended, except for one, I’ve gone with my sister. It’s our thing that we do together. For those hours that we sit next to each other, we’re not fighting, we’re not alone in our rooms, and we’re the most alike we can be.

“When you come to a show do you feel the same thing that I feel when I’m on that stage? I mean, I know you’re not standing on the stage… but surely you can feel the same energy that I’m feeling, to some degree. It’s so much more powerful than all the trivial nonsense that people chalk our band up to be. It means something great and it feels empowering. It’s the grace of knowing that we can all totally suck and be a little messed up and then stand in a room with thousands of other people who are exactly the same way, no matter how dressed up they look on the outside, and we can be broken all the same.” ― Hayley Williams

IMG_0233.JPG

With the base pounding, people screaming, my sister and I are shouting the lyrics next to each other, both connecting in this experience of live music. The energy is electric and we forget that I like to read and she doesn’t, that she’s tall and I’m short, that I’m blonde and she’s brunette, that she is popular in high school and I wasn’t. And we also remember that we are sisters, we were each other’s first best friends, we were each other’s teammates and biggest supporters, and we love each other.

IMG_3669.jpg

“I do not see as well without her. I do not hear as well without her. I do not feel as well without her. I would be better off without a hand or a leg than without my sister. Then at least she would be here to mock my appearance and claim to be the pretty one for a change.” – Erin Morgenstern

I can’t tell you how grateful I am for all the concerts that we’ve gone to together, because it feels like they’re the only real bonding experiences Grace and I really have anymore. And, I can’t tell you how much I love my sister, even though I hate her sometimes, because there just aren’t enough words in the English language to express it adequately.

Leave a Reply

